Meijburg Art Commission 2021 nominees announced - Jury overwhelmed by strong entries

August 13, 2021
Photo credits (left to right): 1. Wanda Tuerlinckx, Repliee S1 courtesy Art Gallery O68 Velp. 2. Saskia Noor van Imhoff, untitled, 2020 courtesy GRIMM Amsterdam. 3.Thorsten Brinkmann, Oskar van Degenball, 2012 courtesy Hopstreet Gallery Brussels.

The winner of the Meijburg Art Commission will be announced during the upcoming edition of Unseen Amsterdam (17-19 September) at the Westergasfabriek. With this prestigious prize, KPMG Meijburg & Co. aims to offer photography talent the opportunity to develop new work and exhibit it to a wide audience. A special Meijburg Lounge has been set up on the exhibition floor with the exhibition 'Five Years of the Meijburg Art Commission', a retrospective on the work and winners of the past five years.

Wilbert Kannekens, Chairman of the Executive Board at KPMG Meijburg & Co., comments:
“Artists are able to break through patterns and inspire us. Now more than ever, it is crucial to support the cultural sector. I am therefore very much looking forward to the announcement of the winner of the Meijburg Art Commission 2021 during Unseen Amsterdam.”

Roderick van der Lee, Director of Unseen, says the following about the collaboration:
“The level and high degree of reflection in the entries that the jury assessed this year show that, within only a few years, the Meijburg Art Commission has grown to be a prize to which photographers attach great significance, which is fantastic. Unseen is proud to not only be able to support artists in this way together with Meijburg, but also to be part of the search for new artistic forms for photography through this commission.”

Overwhelming number of submissions

All photographers presenting their work during Unseen Photo Fair 2021 are invited to compete for the Meijburg Art Commission. The artists were asked to submit a concise presentation of their style, vision and previous work. Five nominees were selected from an overwhelming number of strong submissions.

International jury

The five nominated artists were selected by an international jury, consisting of Wilbert Kannekens - Chairman of the Executive Board at KPMG Meijburg & Co; Marleen Sleeuwits - Winner of the Meijburg Art Commission 2019; Robert Jan Verhagen - Curator and Chairman of the Mondriaan Fund Advisory Committees; Willemijn van der Zwaan - Curator of the Fotomuseum The Hague and Brandei Estes - Head of the Photography Department Sotheby's. 


The five nominees for the Meijburg Art Commission 2021 are:
Thorsten Brinkmann (DE, 1971), Hopstreet Gallery (BE)
Thibault Brunet (FR, 1982), Galerie Binome (FR)
Popel Coumou (NL, 1978), Torch Gallery (NL)
Saskia Noor van Imhoff (NL, 1982), GRIMM (NL)
Wanda Tuerlinckx (BE, 1969), Art Gallery O-68 (NL)

Winner Meijburg Art Commission 2021

During the VIP opening of Unseen on Thursday, 16 September at 12 noon, the winner of the Meijburg Art Commission 2021 will be announced in the presence of the press and invited guests. The winner will receive a project fund for the creation of a work to be displayed in the Meijburg headquarters in Amstelveen. Afterwards, the work will be added to the Meijburg Art Collection.

© 2024 Meijburg & Co is a partnership of limited liability companies under Dutch law, is registered in the Trade Register under number 53753348
and a member firm of the KPMG global organization of independent member firms affiliated with KPMG International Limited, a private English company limited by guarantee.
All rights reserved.